Interrupting the Occasional Geekery with a Lovely Pipe Dream

We are all mad here, my dear.

1 / 2 / 3 / 4

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

The time is now. As I go down the train at 11 in the morning, my tiny feet still grateful for the comfortable pair of flip-flops that was part of my staple wardrobe, I cannot help but romanticize the moment by spacing off and envisioning myself wearing a chic and classy, black and white business casual. As I go down the train, I do not walk. No, I am better than that. I am more graceful than that, so I appear as if I glide. “Uptown Girl” is playing (Westlife version, please) in the background. Heads will turn as I make my way inside the mall, where I am off to meet a client for brunch. I am a website designer + professional blogger. I run my own website, people, and it’s getting thousands of hits per second. Yes, it’s THAT fabulous. So. Back to the brunch. I will be presenting the moodboard I have created for the client. Are my nerves fried? No, I am feeling lovely, thank you very much. Am I worried the client won’t like it? No, I am too confident for that, thank you very much.

This mental picture disintegrates with no trace as I nearly trip on my own two feet while rushing through the turnstile.

Who am I kidding? I am not that put-together or sophisticated. I walk into walls and am known to suddenly lose balance with no other people to blame except for myself. And that chic office casual attire? NO. I do not own nor wear those. In fact, I plan my office wardrobe like this:

  1. Go to the closet.
  2. With eyes shut, pick anything — ANYTHING — from that pile of shirts, shirts and more shirts.
  3. Grab some jeans/jeggings.
  4. Put on those damn flip-flops.
  5. Rinse and repeat from Monday until Friday.

The only thing that’s pretty much true in the aforementioned pipe dream is that I am in the creative field. I deal with websites — helping out with their management, setting them up when needed, creating new sections and pages, etc. I am not, however, self-employed so there are no brunches in fancy cafes and/or restaurants with clients. And while I do own several blogs, they are not moneymakers. They are built from sheer passion and propelled with a bit of madness, curiosity and caffeine.

The moral of this blog post? None that I can think of right now. And I do apologize to my readers for taking up a few minutes of their time with such utter nonsense. For the next post, I promise it will be worth it. If you have something to say, by all means make use of the comments section below. Come on. I know you want to.

P.S. As an afterthought, I thought I could share this funny video. (Thanks to Ervin for sharing this with me. After seeing this, I have seen pooping in a different light.) It does go so well with the today’s light and jocular post, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

